“I’ve been looking for you..”


The topic for Daily Post, WordPress.com :You’re sitting at a café when a stranger approaches you. This person asks what your name is, and, for some reason, you reply. The stranger nods, “I’ve been looking for you.” What happens next?

What is it about the rain?

The refreshing smell of water falling from sky to the earth. The drops. One sound after the other. Like the hypnotic sounds of life; celebrating.

I put my feet on the chair beside me as I sat and gazed the view of the sidewalk from the lonely cafe. Serenity. I smiled.

“Assalamualaikum..”

I looked up. Wow. My first reaction must had been vivid because the man smiled knowingly and flashed the brightest smile ever. I shook my head from the flush I felt rising to my cheeks and quickly put down my feet.

” Waalaikumsalam..”. Still dazed, and still looking up to the standing stranger, I chided myself. What am I doing? Usually I just ignore strangers, or just raise one of my eyebrow with an icy stare.

” Cik… ?”

” Nur Lisa..”. At that moment, I felt like slapping my face. It was like I was under a spell.

He smiled. Calmly, he sat down beside me. Now both of us, not facing each other but looking at the open space in the rain.

“I’ve been looking for you..” The words came easily, not hurriedly. It was like he said ” What a beautiful weather it is..”

“Who are you?” . One sane moment I managed to ask, despite the fact that at the very moment he sat down, I felt I had known him my whole life.

“You know who I am.”

Still not looking at me, still calm. He looked up towards the rain then towards me.

Pure and angelic, he might as well had wings. I looked entranced.

Yes, I knew him. Deep down I knew.

“Do you know why I am here?” I blinked. Almost as though he looked into my eyes and into my soul.

I looked down, and then looked away again.

” Something about what I want?”  I whispered almost too softly.

He nodded.

” The prayers you make everyday. Don’t give up.  He is Most Listening and Most Caring”

“Allah had bestowed you the blessings and when He withheld, He is Most Knowing when it is good for you not to have it and give an even better thing..

“Sometimes it’s easier to see what we have not but actually we have more than most of us..”

I did’nt realized I sat back and put my feet up again as he did when he started talking.

” Be thankful. Be strong. This world is not meant to be Paradise. That comes after all this hard work.”

” After the rain, comes the rainbow..” It came out as though it was meant to be. From my own lips.

This time, without turning, i felt his smile. ” Subhanallah, Alhamdulillah, Lailahaillah, Allahuakhbar”.

” It’s time for me to go..” He decided as the rain subsided. Gentle hail became drops.

“You came with the rain..”. I said in wonderment.

With the that final smile, he got up and went away. That man in white seems to have vanished in the distance.

The peace and serenity state he left me with lingered as i closed my eyes for awhile.

” Thank you, Allah for sending me Hope..”

Rizqy from the rain.

 

I

4 thoughts on ““I’ve been looking for you..”

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.